On June 19, an agreement signing ceremony between BINUS University and Hokuriku University was held at Anggrek Campus. Prof. Harjanto Prabowo, Rector of BINUS UNIVERSITY and Tsutomu Ogura, PhD, Board of Trustees and President of Hokuriku University signed the General Agreement, which marked the formal establishment of cooperation between the two universities.

Prof. Harjanto welcomed Tsutomu’s first visit at BINUS UNIVERSITY and gave a brief introduction about BINUS UNIVERSITY. He also expressed BINUS’ wishes to foster and deepen BINUS-Hokuriku collaboration through the agreement in various fields, such as promoting faculty and student exchange, joint-research program, organizing lectures as well as academic conferences, among other possibilities of collaborations.

Founded under the leadership of Hayashiya KamejirĊ, former Minister of National Affairs in 1975, Hokuriku University is private university located in Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan. It was originally founded as a single-department college of Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The university emphasizes on the liberal arts and practical education as one of its education’s characteristics which allows students to be able to quickly adapt to rapid changes in society. In April 2006, Hokuriku University in cooperation with the Chinese government and Beijing Language and Culture University established The Confucius Institute, a Chinese national project that promotes mutual understanding and friendly relations between countries worldwide and China through the spread of Chinese language and Chinese language culture.